About

DSC_0216_2Hi there, I’m Sophie. I’m 24 and I live in South London. Welcome!

I started blogging last October, and use this little space of the web to write about things I get up to outside of work. I go to quite a lot of museum exhibitions and theatre shows, so they tend to get quite a feature. I’m also running my own little 52 Books Challenge, where I aim to read a book a week and review them all on here. I also recently purchased my first DSLR camera, a Nikon D5200, which is my baby, and am developing my photography skills with the help of my boyfriend, Ben.

I moved to London nearly six years ago to study for my BA in History at King’s College London. Having graduated, I realised that I had fallen in love with the city I once hated (as a child I thought London was dirty, grey, smelly and noisy) and stayed on. I currently live in Camberwell with my flatmate and uni buddy Jon, who has essentially become the brother I never had. However, I spent most of childhood in Suffolk, and the urge to return to the country rears its head on a fairly regular basis, which is a perfect excuse to head back to visit my parents and seek some countryside tranquillity.

You can expect to find some of the below featuring at some point in the blog, as they are some of my great loves in life:

– Bright colours (I inherited this love from my mum – you’ll see me coming a mile off)

– 80s music (I was born in the wrong decade…)

– Colourful/patterned jumpers (Thanks to the British weather I live in these for about 80% of the year. I am partial to a colourful and unusual knit, and it’s an addiction that only gets worse with time!)

– The Big Bang Theory (the characters remind me so much of Jon and our other uni flatmate Tom. I like to think of myself as a Penny-Bernadette hybrid!)

– Midsomer Murders (yes, I’m an old woman at heart. I have no shame, and massive love for John Nettles, who reminds me of my dad!)

– Nutella (out of the jar with a spoon)

– The Irish Disco Biscuit Cocktail from B@1 (SO good!)

– Hours spent cosy on the sofa/in bed reading a good book

– Nights out at the theatre

– Long walks in the countryside, along the beach or alongside the River Thames

– Animals (especially dogs. All the dogs)

– Singing (though rarely within earshot of other humans!)

– Male voice choirs (blame my dad and a childhood partly spent in North Wales!)

– Brass bands (again, thanks Dad…)

 I hope you enjoy your visit to my little blog, and please do come back! You can also find me on Twitter and Instagram, and contact me at octobersgirlblog@gmail.com

Advertisements

2 Responses to About

  1. Have had a look through and this is a really nice blog 🙂 As someone who lives in London and also studied history at university and has made a blog for after work/weekend activity I will be giving you a follow!

    Beth x

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Beth! I’m glad I’ve found a fellow London resident and history lover. Have had a look at and enjoyed your blog too. I like your reading resolutions! Also (having a quick stalk through your blog), I see you boyfriend is studying at Oxford. Scary coincidence – my boyfriend studied there too!
      Thank you for stopping by and levaing such nice comments – it really means a lot! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s